Bug Player – 4

Brought to you by Chaotic Frog Scans
Translated by: Seol
KPRed and edited by: Tteokbokki
Proofread by: reii


— Volume 1 Episode 4
Chapter 2: Cheating is my strength! (Part 2)

Support the original translation team by reading on Chaotic Frog Novels~

Her face reddened.

She knew she shouldn’t be having such thoughts, but she felt she had trespassed into an absolutely forbidden zone.

‘No, no, Master is an adult! Of course he can do that. He’s a man with a healthy body after all, right?’

However, she felt grave. She felt a little betrayed by Jared, the man she held dear to her heart. 

As a matter of fact… she was angry!

Although she’d never thought of Jared as her own man, she didn’t want to see or hear him sharing a passionate love with someone else.

To think that the first thing he did ever since getting out of bed, would be something between a man and woman!

It was unacceptable.

It would’ve been better if she hadn’t found out. It felt as if she had opened Pandora’s box.

“Ah, seriously. What would others think if they saw me like this? If they knew their lord was doing this, without any clothes…”

“Aaaaah.”

Haze’s pupils shook.

Even though he was being self-deprecating, it seemed Jared was determined to finish off whatever he was doing… with someone. 

Isn’t it obvious what’s going on if two are in the basement without their clothes on?

‘No, no!’

Haze shook her head in despair. 

And just then.

“Ahhhhhh!”

A coarse moan was heard. Haze’s mind went blank. 

Click!

Before she could think, her body moved on its own and opened the basement door. It wasn’t difficult for her to open the door since she was the only one who had the key.

“No! Master, no!”

Haze desperately ran inside, shouting. Oh, how fast she ran!

From the moment Jared had noticed Haze’s presence, the two had already made eye contact. 

“…um.”

“…eh?”

A moment of silence passed.

It was as if time had stopped.

Jared and Haze stood still just staring at each other. Except, there was a problem. It was the fact that Jared was facing Haze without anything on.

What was even more embarrassing, was that unlike what Haze had been expecting, Jared was alone.

“What’s… up?” Jared asked.

At the moment, Jared was so flustered that he couldn’t even think of flinging on clothes to cover himself because he was half out of his mind. In his right hand, there was a needle he was about to insert into his belly that was already full of closely embedded needles, like the back of a hedgehog.

“I thought, M-M-Master was making love… aah.”

Haze’s face turned a bright red and she ducked her head. She revealed her inner thoughts without thinking. However, that was fine, because she was able to find out it was all just a misunderstanding.

But there was a new problem. Jared misunderstood this situation.

“What am I going to do! Haze, take responsibility!”

“Pardon?”

“Seeing my bare body… Haze, you’re the first person.” And this was true. Both in the past and in the present, I’d never shown anyone my bare body.

After some time of trying to calm down from the shock of having exposed my bare body, I explained the situation to Haze.

Having never heard of the concept of acupuncture, she tilted her head a few times, but soon took in the situation without much thought. 

“I think whatever Master does is always right! Beyond that, I’m very happy! It’s so cool to see you take care of yourself so enthusiastically!”

“Haze, my eyes are up here. Why are you looking down?”

“Ah! I’m so sorry!”

“Anyways, to put the needles into my stomach and thighs, I have to take off all my clothes. That’s the reason I’m down in the basement.”

“I’ll make sure to keep the door thoroughly locked from now on. Or should I stand by the entrance? Just in case someone tries to come in.”

Haze pretended to be at attention and imitated a guard. Her innocence was truly her charm. That must’ve been why she liked the former owner of this body like an idiot, and perhaps she still did.

– Give me back my Mind’s Eye!

‘Oh my gosh. That surprised me.’

Just then, Isabella, who had been standing next to me the whole time, yelled at me.

Thanks to her, I was able to turn my attention back to the Mind’s Eye.

I immediately used my Mind’s Eye skill on Haze to examine her stats and disposition. Since Mind’s Eye is a passive skill, a separate procedure is not required. In addition, there’s no mana consumption, kind of like a permanent buff.

[Haze – Lv. 8]
[Muscle Strength: 3] [Stamina: 11]
[Mana: N/A] [Wisdom: 13]
[Agility: 13] [Charm: 25]
[Physical Defense: 5]
[Magic Defense: N/A]
[Special Dispositions: Dedication S / One-Sided Love A / Support A / Master of Cooking A / Oversensitive B]
[Regular Dispositions: Comfortable, Peaceful]

‘Wow, <Dedication> is S? On top of that, she has a lot of special dispositions.’

I was surprised to see her special dispositions. If a <Paradiso> user saw her dispositions without knowing that she was a maid, they would for sure offer her the role of a healer. 

This is because <Dedication> and <Support> are essential elements for a healer, who must use divine energy for healing.

One can even go as far as to say that a healer shouldn’t be chosen if they lack those two dispositions since it would be a waste of time. However, Haze has both dispositions, both ranked S and A, respectively, which is good.

‘<One-Sided Love A> means her terrible crush has carried on for a long time. At this point, she’s had this unrequited love for over 10 years…’

Knowing who her crush is, I can’t help but feel a bit heartbroken for her. Unfortunately, I have a lot of work to do as a lord in the future. I can’t give someone my heart and date comfortably. If do that, it’ll be completely contrary to the goals I set for the future. 

‘<Master of Cooking> is an A as well. No wonder everything Haze cooks tastes good.’

The past me really enjoyed Haze’s food. 

I’d always wondered how skilled she was at cooking, but I’m convinced now that I’ve seen it with Mind’s Eye.

‘I need to train Haze as a healer later on – it’ll be a huge help to the territory!’

I had formed future plans for a person who was unaware. A plan to foster Haze as a healer!

A healer is one of the most precious occupations on the continent.  A person with this role typically has a tremendous talent for healing, so much that not even high priests can contest. 

If she’s trained well, she’ll become a priceless treasure for the territory.

“Master? What are you thinking about? Is something worrying you?”

“Oh, sorry. I had to think about some things for a second. What was I saying?”

“We were talking about me protecting the basement entrance for you instead of the security guard!”

“Nah, no need. You’re the only one who manages the keys to the basement anyways. I’m the only one with the other key too.”

“That’s true!”

“As long as you don’t come in, Haze.”

“Heh… is that so?”

When Haze scratches the back of her head, I give her a light flick on her forehead.

“Turn around. I have to do something embarrassing from here on.”

“Yes, sir! Then I will go over there and organize the cleaning tools.”

“Unless I call for you, don’t come this way. There’s nothing on me for you to see anyways.”

“Yes! I will keep that in mind! Er… That ‘yes’ was meant for when you said not to come over unless you call for me, not for when you said there’s nothing for me to see your…”

She could’ve just left, but she just had to say something extra. 

“…I get it, it’s fine.”

“Heuk, I’m sorry!”

“I said it’s fine. Go on.”

“Yes…”

Haze passed through the hallway in the basement and went straight outside. It was only then that I breathed a sigh of relief and began to breathe mana over the needle embedded in my stomach.

Still, I’m glad that the old Jared guy had some magic ductility. If I’d gotten a body with nothing of use, I would’ve been in despair. I’m grateful to him for being a class 4 wizard.

This body has a low mana stat, but fortunately, it’s a body that knows how to read and handle mana. Because his father was a wizard, Jared had been educated on magic from a young age.

My current status as a wizard in terms of class is class 4. There were quite a few spells I could use, but the problem is that my plate1 is too small.

With my current mana stat at 75, I can’t use class 4 magic twice since each consumes 40 mana. However, since the class had stats, it means I was able to complete the basics of a wizard. The flow of mana within me seems stable as well.

‘Along with the diet cheat, I need to work on a cheat to increase my mana stat. Rather than jumping straight into a dungeon, it’s more important to expand my mana pool first.’

With this heavy body, it’ll be too much for me to go into a dungeon with monsters crawling about.

The priority is to increase the mana stat in a safe way and lose weight. Nothing’s more important than these two.

“Whew, whew.”

Whenever the energy of the four elements of mana is injected through the needle, my body repeatedly gets hot, cold, solidifies, and then loosens. Every time this happened, I sweated like a waterfall.

Luckily, I’d prepared a lot of towels in advance. Otherwise, it would be flooding in here.

[Your body is under ‘Fat-Decomposition’ state.]

[The effectiveness of the ‘Fat Decomposition Needle’ has increased by 3x.]

[Strong stimulation has been activated in large quantities. 900g of fat was immediately decomposed and discharged!]

‘Nice! This is it!’

Certainly, my body is reacting better because the needles have been inserted deeply before circulating mana. I can feel myself becoming slimmer already.

“Wow!”

I can now just barely see the tip of my toes. I can see them if I breathed out, but if I breathed in, my toes disappear. Still, it’s progress! I couldn’t even see the tip of my toes earlier. I got excited. I touched all the needles, one by one, and continued to circulate mana through them.

“Ha, this is the first time I’m smelling grilled samgyupsal on my body.”

I let out a snort. Every time I circulate the mana of fire element, I get a whiff of grilled meat from my belly. I ignore my growing hunger and continue to decompose fat.

And so, after some time in the basement, I freshened up with a bath and went to my office. As I sit down in a chair, Haze enters the room. In her hands is a small tray, which carries the dinner I asked for.

“Master, I prepared your dinner as you’ve requested.”

“Thanks. You can leave that here.”

“I think it’s a bit harsh.”

“Huh?”

“Everything on here is all vegetables. I’m worried you might fall ill from eating only this. Compared to the generous meal Master used to eat, the contents changed so much overnight…”

Something pricked my heart when she mentioned ‘generous meal.’ For sure, Jared did eat a lot. Actually, he really ate a lot! He ate so much that I’m surprised he’s still alive. It’s putting it nicely that he was extremely obese. If the game system had something called ‘Ultra-Extreme Obese’, I would’ve seen it in my stats, no doubt.

I became more determined to change my diet and control how much I ate.  This way, the synergy with the fat decomposition needle would improve. This was a proven relationship in <Paradiso>.

“It’s essential to control your diet when you’re using acupuncture since it helps with the results.”

“Oh, is that true?”

“Yeah. I need to keep at it, no matter what.”

I planned to steadily implement the steps of the acupuncture cheat. After all, there’s no doubt it would be successful since its capability had already been verified in <Paradiso>.

“Then should I make meat out of beans? I learned how to make that from a chef in the past. At the time, Master didn’t like it, so she was kicked out… but I think it’ll be okay now!”

“Bean meat? That doesn’t sound bad. It’s made of beans, not real meat anyway.”

“Yes! That’s right!”

“Then shall we see Haze’s cooking skills? Will you make it for me right now?”

“Of course! I’ll do anything you tell me to!”

“Anything? And it doesn’t matter what?”

“Yes!”

Support the original translation team by reading on Chaotic Frog Novels~


Translator’s Notes:

  1. Plate refers to how much magic someone can hold. A smaller plate means fewer spells or magic that a person can use while a larger plate = more spells/magic. Essentially, plate = how much mana is contained.

Episode 3     Table of Contents     Episode 5

Leave a comment