The Devil’s Beloved Daughter – Chapter 2

Brought to you by Chaotic Frog Scans
Originally MTLed by: soxfxia (in Cheesecake Scans)
Translation-checked and edited by: Seol and Tteokbokki
Proofread by: reii


Chapter 2

Support the original translation team by reading on Cheesecake Scan Novels~

Shortly after my birthday, my aunt and uncle took me out of the small room.

Suddenly, I was given a proper bedroom and new clothes. No matter what, I didn’t want to go back to the small room, so I did whatever I was told. 

This was the start of my first terrible dream. 

Not long after I had left the small room, I was snuck into a victory party at the Imperial Palace, wearing a wig to hide my black hair.

“See that boy over there? Go and give this drink to him.” 

“…yes, A-Aunt.” 

“You must give it to him, it’s good for the body. Do you understand?

The person I was directed to was not a boy, but he was not an adult either. He looked around 17 years of age. 

His name was Abel Durndevre. 

In truth, I didn’t quite understand. 

The butler had taught me that the ‘Eblanc family’ had enemies. 

The ‘Grand Duke of Durndevre,’ called the leader of the devils, was said to be a great sinner for going against El-Hala’s will and following the devil’s religion.

No, I think it was said even to the extent that he was the one who stood in the center of that religion. 

The ‘Eblanc family,’ on the other hand, listens to the word of God and carries it out. 

It was said that the Durndevre had sold their souls to the devil, so they were labeled villains no matter what kind of person they were in actuality. 

The devil was the archenemy of God, and therefore, the devil’s family Durndevre was the archenemy of the Eblanc’s. 

The butler instilled this fact into me as if it was an irrefutable truth. 

In hindsight, I should have pondered for a moment as to why they would give the much-hated Durndevre’s second son a drink. But at that time, I really couldn’t think straight due to my fear of my aunt. 

I’ll get in trouble if I don’t do as I’m told. I’ll get hit again. 

“Excuse me, dis…..” 

“Huh? Are you giving it to me?” 

“Y-yeah.” 

“Thanks.” 

Abel was impressive with red hair that shone like the sun in stark contrast to my black hair. He had gleaming eyes and an unrestrained smile. 

But Abel, without a single doubt in mind towards a young child, drank the beverage I gave him and coughed up blood on the spot. 

“Cough! Kugh…!” 

“….!” 

Crimson red blood gushed out like a fountain. 

I still get goosebumps every time I think of him convulsing and bleeding from all seven orifices. 

While everyone was startled, I managed to escape from the spot and returned to my aunt. 

And then, my aunt accused me.

“Murderer.”

I’d done that because my aunt had told me to. 

The face that was laughing at me was no different from a monster’s. 

She temperamentally shouted, “Did you really kill him? No matter how stupid you are, to think you were that stupid.” 

And a few months later, I found out exactly what I had done. 

The outbreak of the Great War. 

All the families who followed and worshiped the devil centering around the Durndevre family took up their swords to avenge Abel. They declared war on all who believed in El-Hala, saying they couldn’t have been unaware the Eblanc family would poison Abel. 

The Eblanc family, the Holy Knights, and the Congregation fought against them.

Countless people were sacrificed. 

In order to block the power of the furious devils, the holy knights stepped forward and gave their lives. 

‘Finally, I found out that it was a war instigated by my uncle on purpose.’ 

My uncle obviously knew it would lead to war although I couldn’t figure out why he would want to start one. 

‘I don’t even want to call him uncle.’ 

I’d never called him uncle my whole life. 

To me, he was just Count Eblanc. 

What made me even angrier was that after using me like that, the way they treated me didn’t change.

I reverted back to being locked up in the Eblanc mansion.

For a long time. For a really long time. 

On top of that, I wasn’t able to go out into the outside world. 

The family fell, and I was weakened to the point of almost dying. The feeling of guilt for my involvement swallowed me whole, and around that time, I started seeing hallucinations. 

‘The best thing about it was the climax, of course.’ 

If my dream had ended there, I wouldn’t have been able to make any plans. 

But thankfully, the dream continued. 

Outside, I saw a world that was irreparably broken, and in the middle of the ruins, stood a man. Feeling my presence, he slowly turned his head soullessly.

Scarlet eyes, that glittered like glass beads filled with undying embers, looked straight at me. 

The scene was so heartbreaking it almost brought me to tears. 

And the words that came out of the man’s mouth were something I could never forget.

“So, you’re my daughter.”

I undeniably looked like him. 

Black hair and scarlet eyes. Even the nose, chin, and lips bore a striking resemblance to my own features. 

At that moment, I realized my biological father was Grand Duke Durndevre. 

In other words, my mom’s beloved partner was the Grand Duke of the antagonistic family. 

Only then could I guess why Count Eblanc kept my existence a secret. He never, ever wanted me to meet my biological father. 

‘Ultimately, I murdered my half-brother with my own hands, without knowing anything.’ 

The first dream ended there. 

In my second dream, I refused to do anything that I was told to do. 

‘And not long after that, the Count killed me.’ 

Stab. 

The feeling of being stabbed by my uncle’s sword that was as big as myself remained vivid in my memory. 

It was either kill or be killed. 

My future was so full of despair, even though at this moment, I was merely a five-year-old.


‘I hate sharp things.’ 

I shuddered when I thought of my second dream. 

Count Eblanc deliberately threw my corpse, which had been torn apart by a hound, on the doorstep of the Durndevres family. And since it was a dream, I could see my own corpse and how nauseating it looked. It still gave me chills thinking about it. 

It was a murder fueled by resentment. After that, well, there’s nothing to explain. War broke out again. 

‘The third dream was…’ 

At the very least, it had been the most ordinary one. 

I cleverly figured out my maid’s weaknesses and provoked her. 

The maid, who unbearably hated me, grabbed me and dragged me to the laundry room on the morning of the victory party. 

That’s where she would shower me with insults. 

But during that moment, I ran away from the mansion. 

The opening I found in a wall was small, but my body was much smaller, so I was able to crawl my way out. 

Afterwards, I started living on the streets, since I could never go to an orphanage in fear that House Eblanc would find me. Even so, I could not enter the back alley which was full of thugs, since I was too young. So what I chose to do was to find a master, who had at least little compassion, to work for. 

I sold the expensive clothes that I wore for a bargain and bought commoner’s clothing with the money I received. 

People would never think I was a daughter of a noble family. 

A common commoner orphan. That was me. 

Regularly wiping the dust off the shop floor with my small hands, I became known for never stealing anything and working diligently. Later on, I was promoted to an important managerial role in charge of checkout and inventory management for several stores. 

Since the third dream was so long and tiring, I tossed and turned, wanting to wake up. 

‘And lastly, the fourth dream.’ 

It was short and a bit unique. 

My biological father patted my head and spoke to me. 

A husky and warm voice called me ‘Mel,’ although my name was ‘Mia’. 

Mel. 

Somehow, this syllable sounded incomparably sweet. I woke up from my dream as soon as I heard that word. 

I was accustomed to pain. But it was very strange to me that I felt sort of ticklish in my heart. My mother died because of me, so why would my father care about me? That was just ridiculous. It must be a trap. 

“Such nithe tings cawnt haphen to me.”

With beads of cold sweat dripping down my body, I pulled on a torn blanket, covered my body, and curled up.

This was my life and it would be fine as long as it didn’t get any worse.

I decided not to let the first or second future that I saw come true. 

But if what I saw really was the future, if it was really one of the many futures… 

Maybe I could run away from here. 

My plan was simple. 

For sure, I needed a guardian because I’m a baby. 

My biological father was the enemy of the Eblanc family, so I figured he would definitely help me if I visited him and told him about my uncle’s weaknesses or evil plans. Couldn’t I just let him know that Abel is in danger of getting killed?

Of course, leaving out the fact that I was the one who would be used to kill him. 

‘And in my dreams, my dad never threatened me. He never showed his anger towards me.’ 

I would have to bank on the kindness I experienced very briefly in the last dream. 

‘If even the devil has a god, please, I pray to you, let my Dad be a kind person.’ 

I won’t ask you to raise me. But I don’t want to face a terrible ending. 

I forcefully put strength into my small shoulders and stuck out my baby-like little fingers one by one.

1. Sell my uncle’s evil plans to my dad. 

2. Charge him child support fees plus information costs. 

3. Ask him to help find an agency or hire someone to protect me while I’m still a kid. 

4. Bravely find a way to live somewhere else with money!

The only problem was this baby-like pronunciation, but it’ll work out well because I practiced hard. 

I clenched my small fist.

Support the original translation team by reading on Chaotic Frog Novels~

Chapter 1     Table of Contents     Chapter 3

Leave a comment